Sunday, December 30, 2007

Pro Bowl Quarterbacks & Sacks

Big Dan the 'Burgh Man and I were talking Saturday afternoon and he posed the following question: Has a quarterback ever made the Pro Bowl in a season during which he was sacked more than Ben Roethlisberger has been sacked this season (i.e. 47 times)?

It seemed a good question -- could it be that Ben Roethlisberger was the holder of a dubious, not to mention obscure, record? Using Pro Bowl rosters at Pro Bowl Online and statistics available at I discovered the answer, at least a partial answer, to Dan's question.

Going back ten years here are the Pro Bowl quarterbacks with the ten highest sack totals during their regular season:

Drew Bledsoe200254
Steve Beuerlein199950
Marc Bulger200649
Rich Gannon199949
Ben Roethlisberger200747
Duante Culpepper200446
Michael Vick200446
Steve Beuerlein199844
Donovan McNabb200343
Tom Brady200141

So while Big Ben's season has been noteworthy, and his sitting out of the final game of the 2007 regular season ensured that he wouldn't move up on this list, it's not a record.

Labels: ,


Post a Comment

Subscribe to Post Comments [Atom]

<< Home