Tuesday, December 18, 2007

Pro Bowlers Announced

The National Football League is preparing to announce their All-Stars for the game that nobody watches, to be played February 10, 2008, and word from ESPNews and NFL Radio is that 10 11 Dallas Cowboys have made the NFC squad. Included in that number is running back Marion Barber.

Update: 1:00PM PST
Blogging live (as I watch the NFL Network on my Sprint phone!), here are some of the players chosen for the Pro Bowl:

Alan Faneca is in as a starting guard.

James Harrison, (Joey Porter's replacement) is in as a starting linebacker.

Ben Roethlisberger is in as a backup quarterback.

Willie Parker is in as a backup at running back.

Troy Polamalu is in as a backup at safety.

Other Pro Bowlers include (starters are in bold):
Tom Brady, QB, New England Patriots
La Danian Tomlinson, RB, San Diego Chargers
Randy Moss, WR, New England Patriots
Reggie Wayne, WR, Indianapolis Colts

Braylon Edwards, WR, Cleveland Browns
T.J. Houshmandzadeh, WR, Cincinnati Bengals
Matt Light, Tackle, New England Patriots
Jason Peters, Tackle, Buffalo Bills

Jonathan Ogden, Tackle, Baltimore Ravens
Logan Mankins, Guard, New England Patriots
Kris Dielman, Guard, San Diego Chargers
Jeff Saturday, Center, Indianapolis Colts
Dan Koppen, Center, New England Patriots
Antonio Gates, Tight End, San Diego Chargers
Tony Gonzalez, Tight End, Kansas City Chiefs
Peyton Manning, Quarterback

Update: 1:13PM PST
Still more AFC Pro Bowlers . . .

Joseph Addai, RB, Indianapolis Colts
Lorenzo Neal, Fullback, San Diego Chargers

Jared Allen, Defensive End, Kansas City Chiefs
Kyle Vanden Bosch, Defensive End, Tennessee Titans

Jason Taylor, Defensive End, Miami Dolphins
Albert Haynesworth, Defensive Tackle, Tennessee Titans
Vince Wilfork, Defensive Lineman, New England Patriots

Jamal Williams, Interior Linemen/Nose Tackle, San Diego Chargers
Mike Vrabel, Outside Linebacker, New England Patriots
Shawne Merriman, Outside Linebacker, San Diego Chargers
DeMeco Ryans, Linebacker, Houston Texans
Ray Lewis, Inside/Middle Linebacker, Baltimore Ravens
Asante Samuel, Cornerback, New England Patriots
Champ Bailey, Cornerback, Denver Broncos

Antonio Cromartie, Cornerback, San Diego Chargers
Ed Reed, Free Safety, Baltimore Ravens
Bob Sanders, Strong Safety, Indianapolis Colts

Special Teams
Shane Lechler, Punter, Oakland Raiders
Rob Bironas, Place kicker Tennessee Titans
Josh Cribbs, Kick Returner, Cleveland Browns
Kassim Osgood, Special Teamer, San Diego Chargers

Update: 1:19PM PST
NFC Pro Bowlers . . .

Terrell Owens, Wide Receiver, Dallas Cowboys
Larry Fitzgerald, Wide Receiver, Arizona Cardinals

Torry Holt, Wide Receiver, St. Louis Rams
Donald Driver, Wide Receiver, Green Bay Packers
Walter Jones, Tackle, Seattle Seahawks
Flozell Adams, Tackle, Dallas Cowboys

Chris Samuels, Tackle, Washington Redskins
Steve Hutchinson, Guard, Minnesota Vikings
Leonard Davis, Guard, Dallas Cowboys

Shawn Andrews, Guard, Philadelphia Eagles
Andre Gurode, Center, Dallas Cowboys
Matt Birk, Center, Minnesota Vikings
Jason Witten, Tight End, Dallas Cowboys
Chris Cooley, Tight End, Washington Redskins
Brett Favre, Quarterback, Green Bay Packers
Tony Romo, Quarterback, Dallas Cowboys
Matt Hasselbeck, Quarterback, Seattle Seahawks
Adrian Peterson, Running Back, Minnesota Vikings
Brian Westbrook, Running Back, Philadelphia Eagles
Marion Barber, Running Back, Dallas Cowboys
Tony Richardson, Fullback, Minnesota Vikings

Aaron Kampman, Defensive End, Green Bay Packers
Patrick Kerney, Defensive End, Seattle Seahawks

Osi Umenyiora, Defensive End, New York Giants
Kevin Williams, Interior Linemen/Nose Tackle, Minnesota Vikings
Pat Williams, Interior Linemen/Nose Tackle, Minnesota Vikings

Tommie Harris, Interior Linemen, Chicago Bears
DeMarcus Ware, Outside Linebacker, Dallas Cowboys
Julian Peterson, Outside Linebacker, Seattle Seahawks

Lance Briggs, Outside Linebacker, Chicago Bears
Lofa Tatupu, Linebacker, Seattle Seahawks
Patrick Willis, Linebacker, San Francisco 49ers
Al Harris, Cornerback, Green Bay Packers
Marcus Trufant, Cornerback, Seattle Seahawks

Terence Newman, Cornerback, Dallas Cowboys
Sean Taylor, Free Safety, Washington Redskins
Ken Hamlin, Free Safty, Dallas Cowboys
Darren Sharper, Strong Safty, Minnesota Vikings

Special Teams
Andy Lee, Punter, San Francisco 49ers
Nick Folk, Place Kicker, Dallas Cowboys
Devin Hester, Kick Returner, Chicago Bears
Brendon Ayanbadejo, Special Teams, Chicago Bears

Not much to argue with (ok, maybe a little), though it is surprising that Casey Hampton -- the key to the Steelers' ability to stop the run (such as it is) -- was left off the squad entirely.



Post a Comment

Subscribe to Post Comments [Atom]

<< Home